Reply
taking a look at life Palm beach gardens, FL, United States 49151 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting Jessica Fili:" I feel bad for all of you uniformed of the American Pediactrics new recomendations! http://www.heal ... [snip!] ... I feel bad for all of you uniformed of the American Pediactrics new recomendations! http://www.healthychildren.org/English/news/pages/AAP-Updates-Recommendations-on-Car-Seats.aspx?nfstatus=401&nftoken=00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000&nfstatusdescription=ERROR%3a+No+local+token"

she asked for the law not the recomendations. My daughter is going to RF as long as we can in her current seat my son's seat if FF only or id turn his ass around in a heart beat.

Jessica Fili 1 child; Sanford, Maine 697 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting BetterOffSingle!:" just because they say 1 and 20 doesn't mean they are uninformed. They are just stating the LAW because ... [snip!] ... her 9 month old and 2, is using an expired seat with her child in ALL wrong, she probably wont listen to anything BUT the law!"


THERE IS NO ACTUAL LAW it is only recomendations and rule to follow the safety seats requirements ...however the accedemy of pediatrics is who you should listen to considering they do all the testing and stuff like that....hence if she did get pulled over she wouldn't even get a ticket that is why i said later it is horrifying



appologies for typing errors typing 1handed and nursing

taking a look at life Palm beach gardens, FL, United States 49151 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting Jessica Fili:" THERE IS NO ACTUAL LAW it is only recomendations and rule to follow the safety seats requirements ...however ... [snip!] ... wouldn't even get a ticket that is why i said later it is horrifying appologies for typing errors typing 1handed and nursing"


for 1 AND 20 lbs YES there is a actual LAW for it.

Jessica Fili 1 child; Sanford, Maine 697 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting Click Me Click Me!!!:" for 1 AND 20 lbs YES there is a actual LAW for it."


in ME its under 40lbs rear fAcing not all states have same law!

MamaDSx2&SDD Due July 8; 3 kids; 1 angel baby; Monroe, Michigan 10013 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting Jessica Fili:" THERE IS NO ACTUAL LAW it is only recomendations and rule to follow the safety seats requirements ...however ... [snip!] ... wouldn't even get a ticket that is why i said later it is horrifying appologies for typing errors typing 1handed and nursing"


ughh yeah there *IS* actual law

MamaDSx2&SDD Due July 8; 3 kids; 1 angel baby; Monroe, Michigan 10013 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting Jessica Fili:" in ME its under 40lbs rear fAcing not all states have same law!"


if there isn't an actualy 1 and 20 law, it's probab;y a proper use state which meand you HAVE to RF utnil 1 and 20 because NO seat out there will tell you to FF sooner than that.

Jessica Fili 1 child; Sanford, Maine 697 posts
1st Feb '13

Im saying it isn't a state law or anything , like in MAINE it is suggested your RF until 40lbs, or child outgrows the highest limits on their RF car seat... So where my car seat says I can FF at 22lb-45 before changing to booster but can rear face til 35lbs, i would have ti keep my child rear facing til 35lbs.....Most Other states have the same law now and it was changed 2 years ago, the WIC office just gave me all the flyers on it...Also if you can not afford a car seat you can get an application from your local WIC office for a free new car seat! the law 1 and 20 is old and much like other laws has been changed and most people are not aware of it...

I AM TRON 17 kids; Illinois 1482 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting Jessica Fili:" Im saying it isn't a state law or anything , like in MAINE it is suggested your RF until 40lbs, or child ... [snip!] ... a free new car seat! the law 1 and 20 is old and much like other laws has been changed and most people are not aware of it..."


So why can't you just politely inform everyone, instead of being a jerk about it?

I AM TRON 17 kids; Illinois 1482 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting Kylie's Mommy ♥:" When are you allowed to face the seat forward. Like according to the law? A friend of mine has her ... [snip!] ... 9 month old facing forward and I thought that was way to young. My dd is almost 4 so I know she's old enough. But 9 months??"


I would just say, "hey, your pedi may not have told you, but you may want to check out these recommendations, I though they were very informative."



She may just have no idea. =\

Jessica Fili 1 child; Sanford, Maine 697 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting I AM TRON:" So why can't you just politely inform everyone, instead of being a jerk about it?"


WOW did not realize i was a jerk and not for nothing but not many people are that nice on this site to me or most people ever...I DO feel bad for the uniformed and people who still think the law is one way when it has changed...i do find it horrifying that sum1 would ff a 9m old in a crappy car seat...i tried posting the link with information and tried being nice but apparently when you prove people wrong your a jerk...well then i will go away and wish you guys the best of luck especially if you choose to ff at 1 yea 20lbs

Jessica Fili 1 child; Sanford, Maine 697 posts
1st Feb '13

http://www.cpsafety.com/articles/stayrearfacing.aspx



Please just check this out if you have questions about when to FF ...guess I was a jerk before so i apologize...keep your kids safe and RF as long as possible!

I AM TRON 17 kids; Illinois 1482 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting Jessica Fili:" WOW did not realize i was a jerk and not for nothing but not many people are that nice on this site ... [snip!] ... wrong your a jerk...well then i will go away and wish you guys the best of luck especially if you choose to ff at 1 yea 20lbs"


It's okay to be mean if others are mean to you? What are we, 12?! You were trying your hardest to be condescending and you know it. You didn't prove anyone wrong, but if thinking that helps you sleep at night, so be it. Maybe make a post about the new recommendations if you feel that passionately about them, i'm sure people would actually be really grateful, as they may not hear about them anywhere else.

Kylie's👣Mommy. 1 child; 1 angel baby; Texas 3476 posts
status 1st Feb '13

<blockquote><b>Quoting I AM TRON:</b>" I would just say, "hey, your pedi may not have told you, but you may want to check out these recommendations, I though they were very informative." She may just have no idea. =\"</blockquote>




I told them. And they were thanking me. I guess they didn't know.

I AM TRON 17 kids; Illinois 1482 posts
1st Feb '13
Quoting Kylie's Mommy ♥:" <blockquote><b>Quoting I AM TRON:</b>" I would just say, "hey, your pedi may not have ... [snip!] ... She may just have no idea. =\"</blockquote> I told them. And they were thanking me. I guess they didn't know."


Shoot, my FIL still thought it was okay to put kids in the car without a carseat if you didn't have one available. After I gave him some info, he turned into the car seat freak haha

Kylie's👣Mommy. 1 child; 1 angel baby; Texas 3476 posts
status 1st Feb '13

<blockquote><b>Quoting I AM TRON:</b>" Shoot, my FIL still thought it was okay to put kids in the car without a carseat if you didn't have one available. After I gave him some info, he turned into the car seat freak haha "</blockquote>




Lmao. That's what my DHs grandma thinks still. She's like I don't care about the laws I did it with my kids and grand kids and they're still alive. Lol. I'm like well your not doing it with MY kid.